Your Shelves!

Formerly Your Home Library. A project of Kimbooktu.com

Melissa’s Library July 23, 2007

Filed under: United Kingdom — Kim @ 1:36 pm

Name: Melissa

Country: United Kingdom

About the library: The photo I am sending is the ‘lovely’ half of my library. It consists of the entire collection of the beautiful Persephone books; titles by or for or about women, most of which had been out of print for decades before being rediscovered by the Persephone team (or readers). My wonderful boyfriend made the shelves, put up the wallpaper and installed the lighting because he knew I wanted to have a special place to display my collection. I love that this bookshelf says a lot about what we love! (The not-so-lovely half is on a free-standing bookshelf upstairs.)

Library picture:

 

10 Responses to “Melissa’s Library”

  1. kimbooktu Says:

    Great idea to line your bookshelves with a nice print!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Thanks for posting it (and so quickly!) I love it; I saw the wallpaper idea in a magazine and thought it would be such a great of subtly drawing attention to my favourite part of our flat – my boyfriend came up with the further idea of the lights behind the shelves, so it’s really lovely at dusk.

  3. Lee Kottner Says:

    Wow, what a great bookshelf! Lovely books too. I’ll have to look for the Persephone books. I hadn’t heard of them before.

    Like I need more books :^)

  4. Sally Says:

    That really is a special library. Looks fantastic.

  5. Kristy Says:

    love the wallpaper idea…and this wallpaper is lovely. Your shelves are so neat. I aspire to have mine look that way someday.

  6. phoenix Says:

    I will have to remember the wallpaper as liner for my bookcases! It looks great – and I’m jealous of your Persephone collection! I only have 3. 🙂

  7. JaneFan Says:

    The wall paper is a wonderful touch. I will have to try that with mine!

  8. Cathrine Says:

    I love (!) the wallpaper 🙂 beautiful idea !

  9. Dennis Says:

    Thank you…my wife and I are redoing our home study and have been talking about a section of the book shelves that will not have the back board. The wall paper is a GREAT idea. The room is dark, so I am painting the pre-fab brown bookshelves white and after seeing yours and you mentioning lighting, I think track lighting will be in the plans as well. Again, Thank you for your inspiration.

  10. Laura Vasquez Says:

    Lovely half? Beautiful Persephone books? Wonderful boyfriend? Special place? Get a grip sweetheart. Perhaps instead of the wallpaper you could actually put some books on the shelves.

    Lee Knotter – you are a spasmodic twinge


Leave a Reply

