Your Shelves!

Formerly Your Home Library. A project of Kimbooktu.com

Rodrigo’s Library August 19, 2008

Filed under: Portugal — Kim @ 9:22 pm

Name: Rodrigo

Country: Portugal

About the library: The particular photo features Philosophy, Classical Studies, Anthropology, Art and Music books. The painting you see above the bureau (a 19th Century piece) is Dutch (19th Century, too); the tea table is Portuguese 18th Century in dark rosewwod; the Greek bust is a reproduction; the Greek vases on the bureau are reproductions mostly (very good ones – Museum certified – at that), but there is one that is authentic.

On the tea table you can see a small collection of 16th Century books chosen because of typography. The rest of the library contains books on Biology, Ethology, Psychology, Anthropology, History of Science and of Thought, Art, some important works on Physics and Mathematics, and diverse essays; the bulk is Biology, Anthropology, Sociology and Music. It results from the conjugation of my wife library and mine. We are both Professors, as were my two grandfathers and my father. This library will be dismantled in about two years, as we are moving to the country.

Library Picture:

 

14 Responses to “Rodrigo’s Library”

  1. barbara Says:

    This is just the look I want. I am starting to build my first “real” library at the age of 67. You can imagine how many books, collectibles etc I have. I want it to be somewhat formal, a little dark and moody, and hopefully that wonderful book smell I remember from my first trip to the library when I was 5. thanks for the pic

  2. Deses Says:

    Very nice, and just the type of books I have in my collection. I would love to have simple art pieces such as busts and little statues, but my space constrains barely make it possible to house all the books I have, never mind the accoutrements! And that’s too bad, because I have a lot of things I would like to have around to improve the look of my library. In my opinion, this is what separates a home library from an academic or public library.

  3. Erin Says:

    Very homey and warm, I’m loving it!

  4. Debra Lynn Says:

    I am working on my own library now. I love the warm look of your library. A wonderful place to sit down with a good novel and cup of tea…..

  5. Caravaggio Says:

    Great library!

    • Denise Says:

      I love “stopping by” the photo of your library. It feels so warm and inviting. I could stay there for hours. I am sure you do too! Denise

  6. Tony Says:

    Your Library is absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing. It will be a shame when it must be dismantled, but I wish you the best with your move to the country.

  7. Wilkerson Says:

    Great diversity!

  8. marzuki Says:

    small but look comfortable

  9. Looks a bit on the small side, but very comfortable I think.

  10. Debra Lynn Says:

    Would love to see a picture of your new library. It has been some years since this picture and I think you must now have a wonderful library in your country home. Can you share???

    • Rodrigo de Sá Says:

      I will post a photo as soon as I get a decent one. My camera is more or less broken, so I’ll wait till I get a new one.


Leave a Reply

